Take three: a hat-trick from Simplicity 1693

(Inadvertent French flag reproduction here...)

(Inadvertent French flag reproduction here…)

This is such an easy pattern to make that I’ve made it over the past few months not once, not twice, but three times.

I find Simplicity 1693 great to work with because firstly, there are no closure issues like zips or buttons, and, secondly, I like the smooth finish you get with bias binding along the edges.

I’ve made this pattern in three different fabrics: red wool-blend crepe, blue light shirting, and cream mystery fabric (it feels like a heavy crepe) from my favourite remnant bin in town. I had planned to make the short-sleeve shirt option for the cream crepe, but when I pinned the sleeves on, the whole thing looked really dated so I left them off.

The blue one is pattern option ‘F’ and the other two are ‘D’ minus the sleeves.

The hem of the blue top (version 'F' of the pattern) looks lopsided in this photo, but it actually worked out fine in real life!

The hem of the blue top looks really lopsided in this photo, but it actually worked out fine in real life (honestly!)

I used ready-made binding for all three necklines, but decided to make my own for the armholes of the blue shirting version (the white trim on neckline and armholes looked very bib-like when I pinned it together). Because of the cut of fabric I was working from, I only had very small strips of shirting to sew together to make the bias tape (meaning that it took a really, really long time and I’m not too enthusiastic about doing it again any time soon!).

Skills learned: Making bias tape from scratch.

Recommend pattern?: Definitely, especially for beginners. It’s also a handy one for quickly making some tops. I really like when a pattern includes several different options – it always feels like better value!

Simplicity 1693

8 thoughts on “Take three: a hat-trick from Simplicity 1693

  1. They look great, especially the red & blue ones with the contrasting necklines. As someone who has about 10 skirts and 1 blouse I may need to borrow this pattern off you sometime πŸ˜‰

    • Sure! πŸ™‚ They’re really easy to make and while they’re not the most exciting design, I think their simplicity is why I’ll get a lot of wear out of them, especially the blue one.

  2. What a perfect basic to add to your wardrobe. I really like the keyhole opening at the back and the hemline variation on the blue one. I bet you get a ton of wear from all three tops.

    • Thanks Andrea! πŸ™‚ The fabric of the red and cream ones is stronger/stiffer than with the blue so I find them more work-appropriate, but can see myself getting a lot of wear out of the blue top come warmer weather.

  3. I’m so glad I saw this as I’ve been thinking that I need a basic summer top pattern and this looks like it will fit the bill. I have to join in with the crowds and say the blue on is my favourite too.

Leave a Reply

