Making Mabel: Burgundy knit skirt using Colette Patterns

Image

I bought the Mabel pattern as part of the patterns-and-book package offered by Colette Patterns recently. I really like this style of short, fitted skirt, but didn’t have much luck with the few I’d tried on in shops – they always seemed too tight across my hips and too loose on the waist. The burgundy ponte is left over from my Coco #5 dress.

Despite the simplicity of the pattern and its instructions, I did manage to make a heap of silly mistakes. (This may be why sewing at 2am is a bad idea…) Somehow, I mixed the front and back pieces up and didn’t realise until it was all pretty much together, so I suspect the side seams sit a tad differently on my skirt than they might have otherwise. I also completely forgot to make the waistband lining until I was attaching the waistband, so that was jettisoned. Instead, I used a double needle on the top edge of the waistband to smooth it down. 

When I finished putting all the pieces together and tried it on the first time, I really wasn’t sure about this. But, funnily, once I sewed the shiny metallic buttons on, I loved it! I’m not sure why they made such a difference to me, but I much prefer it now.

Image

It’s a lot shorter and tighter than the skirts I usually wear, so I’m not sure how brave I’ll be about wearing it when warmer weather arrives and it’s time to discard tights. I think I have enough of this fabric left to make the pencil skirt version, though, which might be a good summer solution!

Skills learned: Working with a double needle

Recommend pattern?: Colette Patterns have a strong reputation for releasing well-drafted patterns with clear instructions and this definitely fits the bill. I’ll be making Mabel again soon in the longer version and would definitely recommend it as an easy pattern for sewing simple knit skirts.

I haven’t been able to get any good shots of Mabel while away from home this week, but I did take one shot of me wearing it with my Sorbetto top and leggings after doing a 5k charity walk with my family over the first weekend of Me-Made-May ’14:

Image

22 thoughts on “Making Mabel: Burgundy knit skirt using Colette Patterns

    • Thank Louise! It’s really comfy alright, definitely going to try out the pencil option now too! I don’t have many of their patterns, but they have some lovely classic styles and their instructions are a pleasure to follow.

  1. Your new skirt looks great! I love the colour and it looks lovely with your Sorbetto.
    I have to be honest I’ve steered clear of stretch fabrics due to only having a sewing machine (rather than a seger / over-locker) but having read up about the Colette Mabel I am tempted to give it a go. I also want to try Tily’s Coco pattern which also sounds like a good entry into knit fabrics too.

  2. Looks lovely. Much like me i don’t do short, but this looks great on you. I can imagine it looked pretty plain without the buttons. Looking forward to seeing the longer version.

  3. Your whole outfit looks great. Thanks for the details of making Mabel. I often make silly mistakes with simple patterns, good to know I’m not alone.

    • Yes, it’s the free Sorbetto pattern by Colette, though the front panel/pleat part isn’t as visible in these photos because of the fabric print. Must make more for summer!

  4. Your Sorbetto is divine! I’m just not sold on Mabel… you look fantastic in yours but I’m just not a fan of the tight knit skirt. I have to say Moneta is driving me crazy and I’ve actually never had much luck with Colette patterns except Zinnia…

    • Thanks! Yeah, to be honest, I probably wouldn’t have set out to buy this pattern specifically but when it was part of the bundle I thought I’d try it out – and I’m glad I did! I’ve been on a break from sewing this past week and I’m looking forward to trying Moneta when I’m back at the machine 🙂

Leave a Reply

