Coco the third: Finally adding pockets

Coco Yella n Grey(Note: Additional photo added on 21 April 2014)

After hitting some serious snags in a project I’m working on for A Sewing Odyssey’s vintage pattern pledge, I took a bit of a break from it this week to clear my head and do some stress-free sewing.

I’ll keep this post brief because I’ve already written twice recently about using this lovely pattern from Tilly and the Buttons: first, I made a grey long-sleeve roll-neck dress, then I had a go at hacking the pattern to make a sporty, casual, colour-blocked top.

Even after both of those projects, I still had some of the grey fabric, which I bought specifically for Coco, left over. A couple of weeks ago, I spotted this lovely gold ponte on Guthrie and Ghani’s website and thought it would make a nice contrast against the grey. I also wanted to finally have a go at making a Coco which incorporated pockets!

I’m not a particularly quick sewer, but this pattern is so speedy to make up that I was able to put this dress together completely before lunch on Wednesday (unusually speedy for me!). The pattern is also simple enough to allow multiple adaptations (check out Tilly’s Pinterest board of Cocos for some brilliantly creative examples, like House of Pinheiro’s second Coco).

So, are you all set for Friday’s Coco party?! 🙂 (My party track pick is ‘Shout’ by the Shangri-Las.)

Coco 3 Front View

Coco 3 Back View

Coco Selfie

14 thoughts on “Coco the third: Finally adding pockets

  1. Been loving your recent makes, and a veritable feast of Cocos! I’ve got a yoked Coco planned (from not having enough of one type of fabric!) & am also pondering the “where do i want the yoke line” to be as I too want it to creep across into the upper arm. Great inspiration, thank you!

    • Thanks Winnie! 🙂 Yes, these yokes involved a lot of measuring, re-measuring and head-scratching, but it is a great way to use up odd bits of fabric. Looking forward to seeing your Coco!

  2. Wow this is so cute! I’ve actually never made a coco dress but it’s definitely on my list of sewing things to do! Well done on such a great sew xoxo

Leave a Reply

